On this page
What is each one built for?
Lost My Name is the title Wonderbly started with in 2013[2]. The story is a quest "to find their missing name, one letter and one curious character at a time," so every name gives a different 22-page book[2]. The collection page says the series is loved by 4 million children worldwide[3]; Penguin Random House acquired Wonderbly in June 2025[4].
Me the Star has no fixed story. You upload one photo and describe something that happened this week; the story is written around it for the age you give, and a private likeness sheet keeps the same face on every illustrated page[1]. You read the whole narrated book free, rewrite any line or redraw any page, then print a 32-page hardcover for $39[1].
The honest framing: Lost My Name is a name gift, the kind you send a new baby, and from $24.99 it is the cheaper book[2]. Me the Star is for a kid of 2 to 10, the ages the app takes, whose own face is on the page and whose own day is the plot[1]. One asks what your kid is called; the other asks what happened to them this week.
How do Me the Star and Lost My Name compare?
| Dimension | Me the Star | Lost My Name |
|---|---|---|
| How the story is made | Written new, from a real moment you describe, for the age you give | Fixed quest built from the letters of the name; every name gives a different story[2] |
| How your kid appears | Drawn from one photo; same face, hair and skin tone on every illustrated page | The name is the hook; a photo upload is offered, where the photo appears is not stated[2] |
| Page count and format | 8.5 by 8.5 inch hardcover, 32 pages, ribbon bookmark, archival paper | 22 pages; format names for this title are not shown on the product page[2] |
| Price | Free to read; $39 to print one hardcover ($29 on a plan) | From $24.99; per-format prices not shown[2] |
| Preview before buying | Read the whole finished book free, narrated, in the app | Preview all 22 pages before buying[2] |
| Production and delivery (US) | Book on screen in minutes; hardcover ships from Pennsylvania in 5 to 7 business days | Printed and dispatched in 2 to 4 working days; delivery estimated at checkout[7] |
| Charity | No charity component | $1 per copy sold goes to Save the Children[2] |
| Guarantee | 14 days: reprint at no cost or full refund, your choice | Faulty products refunded or replaced if reported within 14 days of receipt[5] |
Every claim about Lost My Name comes from the vendor's own public materials or named third-party coverage, checked 2026-09-22. Pending cells are unresearched, not zero.
When to choose each
Choose Lost My Name when
- You want a name book for a new baby: the story is built from the letters of the name, and Wonderbly recommends it for ages 0 to 8[2].
- You want the lowest price: Lost My Name starts at $24.99[2]. A Me the Star hardcover is $39[1].
- You want a known bestseller: the collection page says the series is loved by 4 million children worldwide[3], and Wonderbly's Trustpilot score is 4.5 across 89,204 reviews as of 26 Aug 2026[6].
- You like the charity line: $1 per copy sold goes to Save the Children[2].
- You need it fast: printed and dispatched in 2 to 4 working days[2], with delivery estimated at checkout[7].
Choose Me the Star when
- Your kid is 2 to 10 and you want their face, drawn from one photo, on every illustrated page rather than their name in the text[1].
- You want the book to be about something that actually happened, this week, not a quest written years before they were born.
- You want to read the whole narrated book, rewrite any line and redraw any page, before paying anything[1].
- You want more book on the shelf: 32 pages in hardcover, ribbon bookmark, archival paper, for $39, or $29 on a plan[1].
What backs the verdict?
Questions parents ask before choosing
Is Lost My Name the same as Wonderbly?
How much does the Lost My Name book cost?
The product page shows from $24.99 USD. Per-format prices for this title are not shown on the page we read, and its formats page returned an error on 17 Sep 2026, so we say from. On Wonderbly's Princess You The Great, softcover is $24.99, hardcover $39.99 and premium layflat $59.99; Lost My Name may follow the same ladder, but the page does not confirm it. A Me the Star hardcover is $39, or $29 on a plan, and reading the book is free.
What is the Lost My Name book about?
The product page describes a quest to find their missing name, one letter and one curious character at a time, and says every name creates a completely different story. It is 22 pages, all of which you can preview before buying, and Wonderbly recommends it for ages 0 to 8.
Does Lost My Name put my kid's photo in the book?
The product page offers a photo upload but does not say where the photo appears, and it makes no claim that your kid's face is in the illustrations. Me the Star takes the other route: one photo becomes a private likeness sheet and every illustrated page is drawn from it.
How long does Lost My Name take to arrive?
Wonderbly prints and dispatches it in 2 to 4 working days; the delivery estimate itself is calculated at checkout, and the product page does not say where the book is printed. Faulty copies are refunded or replaced if reported within 14 days of receipt. Me the Star ships from Pennsylvania in 5 to 7 business days, contiguous US only.
Can I try Me the Star without paying?
Yes. Five free stories per kid, no credit card. You read the finished, narrated book in the app, rewrite any line or redraw any page, and pay $39 only if you print it.
- methestar.com, homepage, pricing and FAQ copy, read 26 Aug 2026
- Wonderbly, Lost My Name product page (from $24.99 USD; preview all 22 pages before buying; printed and dispatched in 2 to 4 working days; recommended for ages 0 to 8; $1 per copy sold to Save the Children; the Wonderbly book that started it all in 2013; photo upload offered, placement not stated), read 17 Sep 2026
- Wonderbly, Lost My Name collection page (personalized book series loved by 4 million children worldwide), read 17 Sep 2026
- Penguin Random House, PRH acquires Wonderbly (over 150 titles, 11 million books, 140 countries), 4 June 2025, read 26 Aug 2026
- Wonderbly, terms page (faults reported within 14 days; no cancellation of personalized products except faults), read 26 Aug 2026
- Trustpilot, Wonderbly (TrustScore 4.5, 89,204 reviews), read 26 Aug 2026
- Wonderbly, delivery information (Standard and Express; delivery estimate calculated during checkout), read 26 Aug 2026
- Wonderbly, Princess You The Great formats page ($24.99 softcover, $39.99 hardcover, $59.99 premium layflat), read 26 Aug 2026

